On September 11, 2003, the Missouri State Senate overrode a Governor's veto and enacted a law allowing for carrying of concealed weapons. However, the law allows for any owner of private property (including owners of private business enterprises) to post signs on their homes, and business establishments informing people that no concealed weapons are allowed on those premises. If someone enters those premises with a concealed weapon, and refuses to leave, the police can be called and the offenders can be fined. Up to $100 on the first offense. Up to $200 on the second offense. Up to $500 on the third offense. There are restrictions on the size of the sign, and the size of the lettering as well. The pertinent parts of the legal code appear below.
A sign that meets the requirements can be purchased -- Buy The Sign Here.. Note: If you live in a state other than Missouri that has a no-concealed weapons law it is up to you to research your state's law and find out if the sign meets their requirements.
The dimensions of the sign (actually a poster) is 11*17 inches. At 150 pixels per inch, the lettering is 200 pixels. (Meaning the letters are approximately 1.33 inches).
The fee of $4.99 is what Cafeshops charges as a base fee for its poster. No profits are being made by me off the sale of this sign. You are free to make your own sign. Find posterboard that is at least 11x14, a box of crayolas, and draw your letters at least an inch high.
Do you like what I have done, and would you like toPertinent Missouri State Legal Code: Complete Text of HB349 - as passed
20. A concealed carry endorsement issued pursuant to this section or a concealed carry endorsement or permit issued by another state or political subdivision of another state shall authorize the person in whose name the permit or endorsement is issued to carry concealed firearms on or about his or her person or vehicle throughout the state. No driver's license or nondriver's license containing a concealed carry endorsement issued pursuant to this section or a concealed carry endorsement or permit issued by another state or political subdivision of another state shall authorize any person to carry concealed firearms into:
(15) Any private property whose owner has posted the premises as being off-limits to concealed firearms by means of one or more signs displayed in a conspicuous place of a minimum size of eleven inches by fourteen inches with the writing thereon in letters of not less than one inch. The owner, business or commercial lessee, manager of a private business enterprise, or any other organization, entity, or person may prohibit persons holding a concealed carry endorsement from carrying concealed firearms on the premises and may prohibit employees, not authorized by the employer, holding a concealed carry endorsement from carrying concealed firearms on the property of the employer. If the building or the premises are open to the public, the employer of the business enterprise shall post signs on or about the premises if carrying a concealed firearm is prohibited. Possession of a firearm in a vehicle on the premises shall not be a criminal offense so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. An employer may prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed carry endorsement from carrying a concealed firearm in vehicles owned by the employer;
21. Carrying of a concealed firearm in a location specified in subdivisions (1) to (17) of subsection 20 of this section by any individual who holds concealed carry endorsement issued pursuant to this section shall not be a criminal act but may subject the person to denial to the premises or removal from the premises. If such person refuses to leave the premises and a peace officer is summoned, such person may be issued a citation for an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars for the first offense. If a second citation for a similar violation occurs within a six-month period, such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed two hundred dollars and his or her endorsement to carry concealed firearms shall be suspended for a period of one year. If a third citation for a similar violation is issued within one year of the first citation such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars and shall have his or her concealed carry endorsement revoked and such person shall not be eligible for a concealed carry endorsement for a period of three years. Upon conviction of charges arising from a citation issued pursuant to this subsection, the court shall notify the sheriff of the county which issued the certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement and the department of revenue. The sheriff shall suspend or revoked the certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement and the department of revenue shall issue a notice of such suspension or revocation of the concealed carry endorsement and take action to remove the concealed carry endorsement from the individual's driving record. The director of revenue shall notify the licensee that he or she must apply for a new license pursuant to chapter 302, RSMo, which does not contain such endorsement. A concealed carry endorsement suspension pursuant to this section shall be reinstated at the time of the renewal of his or her driver's license. The notice issued by the department of revenue shall be mailed to the last known address shown on the individual's driving record. The notice is deemed received three days after mailing.